Ursula K Le Guin

Via the FWord I find out that today is Ursula Le Guin’s 80th birthday.

I love, love, love Le Guin. I don’t have anything more intelligent to say than that because I’ve spent all day writing a convoluted report and my brain is now mush, so here and here are links to old posts I’ve written about Le Guin. Perhaps there will be a longer one about her work at some point.

Feminist SF has a post with links.

And Godard’s Letterboxes has a post about one of Le Guin’s characters, Tenar, from the Earthsea Quartet.

5 thoughts on “Ursula K Le Guin

  1. I hope I’m half as cool as Ursula Le Guin when I’m 80. I mean, not only is she a giant in SF, she totally rocks a name like Ursula.

  2. Wow, I can’t believe she is 80. I was absolutely devoted to her books as a teenager and the ideas! I remember that one of the best bits of our anarchism course at uni was studying The Dispossessed.

    Happy birthday Ursula!

  3. I didn’t actually read her as a teenager, but I’ve been trying to catch up since my late twenties.

    She is fantastic for ideas.

    • I probably need to re read some of the books from teenage reading. It is on my lsit of things to do…

Comments are closed.