Weekend Watching

Had a lazy weekend and watched:

Rent (2005)

The short version: bored+cried+bored=ticked off.   The longer version will follow at some point as part of the ‘Lesbian Movie Marathon’series, but probably not until I’ve posted a couple of positive film reviews (due to my attachment to not coming across as a total pill on this blog).

The Terminator (1984)

My girlfriend gave a very satisfying scream at the end when the Terminator suddenly pops up again just when you think he’s been blown to pieces.  I especially like the last third when Sarah Connor starts to come into her own and take charge (and my Mum always mutters “I’m sure she would have had a miscarriage”).  Still got it.  This film was totally of its moment and no Terminator movie since has matched the sense of dread.

Babylon 5: ‘No Surrender, No Retreat’ and ‘The Exercise of Vital Powers’.

In which Sheridan and co. start to go up against Earth and win a big battle *Stuff blows up*.  But why has no one other than Zack noticed that Mr Garibaldi has been brainwashed?  And that Mr Edgars guy is clearly up to no good.

Firefly, ‘Out of Gas’

A stunning episode – so beautifully filmed and directed.  The moment at the end when Mal shows just a hint of vulnerability is perfection.

Dr Who and the Waters of Mars

Much better than the dodgy Easter special – good story, older woman as hero, normalisation of gay marriage and hint of the Dr turning to the dark side.  I cried twice.  I am so tired of David Tennant though.  Thank goodness we don’t have to wait long for our Timelord’s regeneration.

9 thoughts on “Weekend Watching

  1. 😛 “Satisfying scream”, indeed. You just like it when I cower behind your shoulder and you have to tell me when to look. Why am I in a relationship with a horror movie fan??

  2. Why am I in a relationship with a horror movie fan??

    Because I bring you hot chocolate laced with vodka, among other things.

  3. I’ve just watched the Doctor Who episode, and enjoyed it. Totally missed the gay marriage bit though — where was that?

    “I am so tired of David Tennant though.”

    Heresy!

    –IP

  4. Because I bring you hot chocolate laced with vodka, among other things.

    LOL. That makes it sound like you lace my hot chocolate with other things.

  5. Heresy!

    IP, I know, but he shouts all. the. time. I just can’t take the shouting!

    The Russian guy’s brother was married to a man and this was presented as completely normal.

  6. Andy

    That makes it sound like you lace my hot chocolate with other things.

    Well, yes, marshmallows if we have them and, when times are really tough, the cooking gin.

  7. So, I’m just your kept woman whom you keep permanently sloshed, it sounds like. I’m okay with that.

  8. I totally missed that — I’ll have to watch it again. But in general, yes, I do like that Torchwood and Doctor Who present queer relationships as totally normal. I’m less happy that Captain Jack is such a bisexual stereotype, but I do like that the queer relationships are presented as normal, important, etc.

    –IP

Comments are closed.