Little link round-up

Cast announced for BBC adaptation of Sarah Waters’s novel The Night Watch.  I would like to be excited about this but I’m also a bit worried because, while I like Anna Maxwell Martin, I can’t imagine her as Kay.

Stony Stratford library users check out all the books in protest against library closure.

Peter Bradshaw writes about Nicholas Roeg’s 1973 horror film Don’t Look Now. This film has one of the creepiest atmospheres of any I’ve seen.   When we were teenagers my sister started watching it unawares in the kitchen and even though we were in the next room, she was too terrified to shout for help.

My partner has conflicted feelings about Sandra Gilbert and Susan Gilbert’s seminal work The Madwoman in the Attic: The Woman Writer and the Nineteenth-Century Literary Imagination.

Wolves from Hyperbole and a Half.   A game of “Tyrannosaurus Rex” with my 3 year-old nephew got a bit out of hand the other day.  Let this tale be fair warning to me not to encourage too much biting of auntie.

2 thoughts on “Little link round-up

  1. I await the adaptation of The Night Watch with anticipation, love Sarah Waters and the two adaptations of her work I saw, Tipping The Velvet and Fingersmith were both,
    I thought, quite good. It will probably be a while before we see them in Canada. Also, loved the story about checking out all the books in the town library. Bully, for them and I hope it works:-)

    • I really like the Fingersmith adaptation, but I’m not very keen on the Tipping the Velvet one. My fear about The Night Watch is that they will not get the butch thing with Kay.

Comments are closed.