This week’s culture round-up

From Feminist SF Blog, the first of a series in honour of Joanna Russ who died recently Remembering Joanna Russ – Part 1 I tried to read The Female Man last year and just couldn’t get on with it, but may give it another go sometime.  The Adventures of Alyx is on my bookshelf and I’m looking forward to that one.

Awful Library Books presents us with some awful science fiction.

Sparky explains why writers should think carefully about the tropes they use when representing marginalised people: Tropes and the Marginalised.

But then again, Maud Newton reminds us that perhaps being a writer isn’t always such a great idea.

The ultimate Alfred Hitchcock Cookbook.

From Final Girl, a review of the slasher movie Cold Prey.  I am wondering where I can find someone to watch this with me.

The next in Jess McCabe’s series about female detectives is about spinster detectives.  I recommend the 1980s BBC adaptations of the Miss Marple books starring Joan Hickson.

Andy does a round-up of the lesbian books she’s been reading recently.  Check out the great cover on the Lesbian Love Stories.

And to finish off, here’s Susan Sontag in a Bear Suit

