This week’s culture round-up

From Bad Reputation, Inspirational Fictional Feminists: She-Ra. I was obsessed with She-Ra when I was a kid and I don’t think my mother has ever recovered from taking me to see the feature length version in the cinema. She had a middle-ear infection at the time and every time She-Ra and He-Man did their transformation thing, the noise made her feel like she was going to pass out, at least she said it was the middle-ear infection.

From Tor.com, a post about another childhood favourite, E. Nesbit’s The Story of the Treasure Seekers

From Sociological Images, the trope of the mystical pregnancy in science fiction  .  I notice this trope a lot and it’s usually annoying.

For Books’ Sake celebrates Emily Bronte’s birthday 

One from Andy for the Babylon 5 fans among you, Jeffrey Sinclair is cooler than you 

