This week’s culture round-up

I’m still on my SF reading binge and in the last week I have finished Ray Bradbury’s The Illustrated Man, which I liked very much, am still working my way through Iain M. Banks’s complex The Algebraist and have just started Mary Doria Russell’s The Sparrow. Andy and I have started rewatching Season 4 of Babylon 5.  I haven’t watched any of the new series of Dr Who because I’m scared that it might upset me.  Anyway, here are some links to things I enjoyed on the internet:

Eclectric Eccentric posts about John Polidori’s story The Vampyre , which set the conventions for much of what came later.

Star Trek turned 45 and Tor.com came up with a list of the 10 most underappreciated aspects of the original TV series . My mother watched it from the beginning so Kirk, Spock, McCoy and the rest have been a part of my life for as long as I can remember.

From Science Fiction and other Suspect Ruminations, a post showcasing the best of Alex Schomburg’s 1950s SF cover art

From the Guardian, In praise of supernove without which we would not exist.

From Den of Geek, 10 action sequences that defy the laws of physics. I love action sequences that defy the laws of physics.

And from Cracked.com 5 things that are way easier than they look in the movies

From Genevieve Valentine, We need to talk about the scarlet letter. This film adaptation came out the year I was studying Hawthorne’s novel at university and I remember the lecturer showing a certain amount of derision. This post reveals why.

And here’s an image of Freddie Mercury riding Darth Vader

