5 Things (sand, fossils, junk food, vintage lesbians, dresses)

This image is one of my favourites, so I was delighted to discover this article from FACTS.FM which has more astonishing photographs revealing the Hidden Beauty of Sand. I’m especially taken with the grains of sand that are actually tiny fossils.

Continuing with the fossil theme, I adored David Attenborough’s 1989 documentary Lost Worlds, Vanished Lives.  Attenborough’s passion for the subject is so infectious and I think the documentary is improved by being produced before the advent of CGI. Without the option to create CGI images of the animals (which is almost certainly what would happen if this was made now), the documentary has to focus on the actual fossils.  So if you want to see fossils in abundance, this is the one to watch. I think it’s stunning and can’t wait to show it to my nephew when he’s old enough.

Here’s another interesting article about food from Mother Jones, 9 Surprising Facts about Junk Food. This should probably have been titled ‘9 Terrifying Facts about Junk Food’. Andy was raised on a lot of sugary stuff and it’s taken her years to kick the habit.

Andy introduced me to this wonderful Vintage Lesbian tumblr. What interests me is just how many images there are, considering how taboo the subject was supposed to be until recently. When it comes to the nineteenth-century photographs, I can’t help wondering who was taking the pictures and how were they getting them developed. By the way, Andy also curates her own Lesbian Cultures tumblr.

This gorgeous Naeem Khan gown for Hel, Norse goddess of the dead and afterlife. Despite appearances to the contrary, I like looking at dresses. The main reason I don’t wear them is because I don’t think I have the figure for them, but I might be tempted to give this one a try if it came my way.

