The Quarry Cafe, Machynlleth

The Quarry Cafe in Machynlleth is a traditional and comfortable vegetarian restaurant, with a menu full of reassuring veggie classics. Last time we were there I had the wholemeal pitta bread with chickpea falafel and hummus. It filled me up for about three days.

 

20160515_124021

 

This time we decided to sample the veggie burger. I think it may contain TVP (textured vegetable protein), something I haven’t tasted since I was a teenager. It comes served in a chewy, home made bread roll. This is not food to rush.

20160513_133903

We couldn’t resist going back for more. On the second visit I had the halloumi. and mushroom burger which was absolutely delicious.

20160515_122505

Andy went for the vegetable moussaka. It’s kind of hidden underneath the salads in the photograph, but she says it was lovely.

20160515_122511

If you’re in the area I’d recommend The Treehouse in Aberystwyth as well.

 

 

Express yourself

